Coffee Marinade for Steak I


Chef’s Notes: Usually, I’m a “don’t do anything to my steak” kind of girl. Throw it on the grill until it stops mooing is my preference. But one day as I was blog browsing, I saw a recipe for a coffee marinade for steak. Initially I dismissed it, but the idea continued to intrigue me. I googled it, and was surprised at the number of hits. Was I missing out on culinary decadence by not trying this, I wondered. I incorporated the ideas of several recipes to create my own concoction. And I must admit I’ve become a “do this to my steak” kind of girl.

Steak with Coffee Marinade

Steak with Coffee Marinade

Coffee Marinade for Steak
(enough for two 8-ounce steaks)

1 T. olive oil
¼ C. minced red onion
1 T. minced garlic
¾ C. water
3 T. instant coffee granules
½ C. balsamic vinegar
¼ C. Russian (or red French) salad dressing
¼ C. Dijon mustard
1 T. minced fresh rosemary
½ tsp. fresh ground black pepper

In a small saucepan, sauté onions and garlic in olive oil. Add remaining ingredients and bring just to a boil. Remove from heat and allow to cool.

Tenderize steaks and place in gallon-sized Ziploc baggie, pour marinade into baggie, and seal shut. Marinate for at least 2 hours and up to 24 hours.

Cook steak as desired (grill or broiler); discard marinade.

Also check out Coffee Marinade for Steak II.

Served with sautéed spaghetti squash and Roasted Brussels Sprouts.

2 Responses to Coffee Marinade for Steak I

  1. Saw Jamie olive make baked beans with coffee in the US outbacks on Tv some weeks ago. So now thats more things to do with coffee than ever. Nice recipe, will try it as I’m on a constant quest to cook a better steak

    • Dale says:

      Having read about your salt catastrophe, I can only wholeheartedly recommend that you try the coffee marinade! 🙂 Thanks for visiting my kitchen.

Leave a Reply

