Almost Like An Almond Joy® Pie


Chef’s Notes: My cousin Amber gifted me with two monstrous mutant spaghetti squash. As I debated what to do with all that squash, she suggested pie. I’m quite sure she meant an Italian lasagna-type dish, but I wondered if a dessert pie was a possibility.

I found a recipe for Mock Coconut Pie, a custard-type pie with lemon flavoring. Aside from the possibly coconut-like texture, I didn’t see how it deserved that name. I wondered how it would taste if I would replace the lemon juice with coconut extract.

And then I started thinking about Almond Joy candy bars – coconut, chocolate, almonds – yum. Could I incorporate those flavors into a pie? Absolutely…and oh my this pie is über delish!

Almost Almond Joy

Almost Like An Almond Joy® Pie

Almost Like An Almond Joy® Pie
8 slices

Chocolate Pie Crust
1 1/2 C. flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 stick butter, cold
1/4 C. + 1 tablespoon water
4 tsp. cocoa powder
4 tsp. sugar

Mix the flour, cocoa powder, and sugar in a small bowl. Set it aside. Put the cold butter in another bowl. Cut the butter into tiny pieces with a knife and fork. Now add the flour mixture to the bowl with the cut up butter. With your hands, start mixing them together. Squish it between your fingers. Start adding the water, little by little. Again, mix well with your hands. Squish it together.

Now, turn the dough onto a floured surface. Knead it with your hands by folding it over, turning it one quarter turn, and folding it again. Keep doing this until it’s smooth and round, without any lumps. Roll the dough flat until it makes a circle that’s a little bigger than your pie pan. Roll the dough onto the rolling pin and then unroll it across the top of your pie pan. Cut off the rough edges around the edge of the pan.

Bake at 400 degrees for 8-10 minutes. Cool completely before adding filling.

(My dough was very moist, not at all the texture of pie crust, and impossible to roll out and transfer to the pan. I spread it with my hands directly in the pie pan, as thin as I possibly could, then trimmed the edges. Weird, but it cooked and tasted fine.)

“Coconut” Filling

1/2 C. sugar
3 eggs
1/4 C. butter, melted
1 T. imitation coconut extract
1 tsp. vanilla
3 C. cooked, shredded spaghetti squash (Make sure it’s well drained. Mine was very watery.)
1/2 C. whole natural almonds, coarsely chopped to make about 1/4 cup

Beat together the sugar and eggs until light and frothy. Add the butter, coconut extract, and vanilla, and beat until well-blended. Stir in the spaghetti squash. Pour into pie shell and sprinkle with almonds. Bake 350 degrees for 30 – 40 minutes, until a knife inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool completely.

Chocolate Drizzle
Melt 2 – 3 ounces milk chocolate (or about 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips) in double boiler. (I had to add a splash of milk to get a drizzle consistency.) Drizzle the chocolate over the pie.

Store pie in the refrigerator.

Almost Like An Almond Joy® Pie

Almost Like An Almond Joy® Pie

9 Responses to Almost Like An Almond Joy® Pie

  1. amber says:

    This pie is so good. I was definitely surprised at the combination, but it works well.

  2. Oh.. that looks yummy even though I am not a coconut lover! 🙂

  3. SPB :) says:

    I think that I gained ten pounds just looking at the photo but at this particular moment, I don’t even care lol… that looks amazing!

  4. Simply Life says:

    Yum, that pie looks amazing!

  5. Mimi says:

    I never imagined spaghetti squash in a dessert. My son loves coconut pie so I’ll add this to my to do list. Thanks for the recipe.
    Mimi

  6. Sook says:

    Oh this one I will have to try!

  7. Velva says:

    This was such a creative way to use squash. I would never put squash in the same category as dessert but, I am thinking that I have to re-think my position.
    This was fabulous! Thanks for sharing.

  8. Dale says:

    I hope everyone enjoys the pie as much as my family and I did! 🙂

Leave a Reply

