Pumpkin-Ricotta Cookies with Dark Chocolate and Candied Ginger


Chef’s Notes: The Paper Chef is a cooking challenge in which cooks are challenged to create a recipe using a list of ingredients. The ingredients for this month’s challenge are: ricotta, dark chocolate, ginger, and any fourth ingredient that signifies fall (autumn). This recipe is my submission for the challenge. The spicy ginger and bitter chocolate complement the slight sweetness of the ricotta and pumpkin, and the cookies have a pleasantly moist texture.

Pumpkin-Ricotta Cookies with Dark Chocolate and Candied Ginger

Pumpkin Ricotta Cookies with Dark Chocolate and Candied Ginger

Pumpkin-Ricotta Cookies with Dark Chocolate and Candied Ginger
Makes 3 dozen

1 C. all-purpose flour
1 C. wheat flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 C. unsalted butter, softened
3/4 C. pure cane sugar
1 egg
1 C. ricotta cheese
1 C. 100% pure canned pumpkin
1 oz. Lindt supreme dark chocolate (90% cocoa), coarsely chopped
1/2 C. candied ginger

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Combine flours, baking soda and baking powder in small bowl. In another bowl, beat butter and sugar until creamy. Add eggs, beating well. Add ricotta cheese and pumpkin and mix thoroughly. Gradually stir in flour mixture. Stir in chocolate and ginger. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake 10-12 minutes.

7 Responses to Pumpkin-Ricotta Cookies with Dark Chocolate and Candied Ginger

  1. Mike says:

    This sounds nice. Are the cookies a chewey texture or brittle?

  2. deeba says:

    I very much like the idea of chewy ‘fall cookies’. Thank you for playing along with my ingredients of choice. The cookies sound delicious!!

  3. Sandy R says:

    Made a variant of these today, 11-16-2010. Would not have been brave enough to try without your original recipe. I like them! I had ricotta and pumpkin that needed to be used up; this was perfect.
    I used brown sugar instead of white, added one cup of chocolate chips, one cup of chopped nuts (mixed walnuts and pecans) a dash of salt, 1 tsp of vanilla and 3/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. Thanks so much!

  4. I need your help. I like your side. Your articles are interesting. I got here by mistake and I started reading. I became interested in the topic and I am thinking it I could use your words on my side, of course with the quotation. Please write me back, thanks very much.

  5. click here says:

    Just to let you know your web page looks a little bit unusual on Firefox on my computer using Linux .

Leave a Reply

